Interview with Radu Privantu, aka Raduprv, creator of Eternal Lands.

Started by
20 comments, last by Raduprv 19 years, 1 month ago
In conjunction with the GAME DEVELOPMENT ISN'T EASY! thread, the following is an interview I did with Radu Privantu (known as Raduprv on Gdnet), creator of Eternal Lands, a very successful indie-MMORPG. Radu was kind enough to take the time to do this interview, so massive thanks to him. Q. How did you get started in programming? A. By the time I was 12 or 13, I had my first personal computer, which happened to be a Spectrum ZX48 compatible computer. It had an integrated Basic interpreter, and Z80 ASM was possible with a small but effective assembler. After playing a lot of games, I decided, like any 13 years old kid, that I want to make my own games. So I started to learn Basic, and got a few Basic books. Then I learned some Z80 ASM, at the age of 14, but didn't do much with it. When I got my first PC I was 15, and I started learning X86 ASM. At that time I didn't really make anything game like, but, instead, I focused on researching computer viruses, and how they work. My first assembler for PC was debug.exe (which is quite frustrating ), then Tasm. Years later I learned PHP, and, eventually, C. Q. What was your first game project? A. My first game project was some sort of "kill the zombies and bad guys" hack and slash game. I was 13 at that time, and I didn't have any programming skills needed to make such a game, but at least I wrote down the concept, and some maps :) The first real game I actually worked at was when I turned 19, for a Romanian game company. I worked there for about 7 month, but eventually quit, for some personal reasons. Last time I checked, the game was almost ready, but wasn't shipped. I heard they were looking for some publishers. I would like to mention that none of my code is in that game, they changed the engine a few times after I left. Q. What experience did you have once you stared EL? A. I knew C pretty w