Consoles or PC?

Started by
20 comments, last by JBourrie 18 years ago
Hello there! I've been gone for a while, but now I'm back [smile]! Some people told me that the real game industry is running on consoles and that the PCs only hold about 10-20 pecent of the market. They said that although the PCs are far more advanced (allowing for better games), some factors (like piracy) realy restrain a small company to flurish. What do you think about this? If somebody would make a nice game, do you think he/she should port it to consoles? Is console programming actualy possible for, let's say, an indie company? I mean I don't think all the licenses and the devtools required to make up something are quite cheap... I'm kind of new to the console stuff, so please excuse me if this was a bad post [lol].
Advertisement
Legal console programming is almost impossible for a beginner. This is just because consoles companies won't publish titles from unknown individuals. Also you may require to spend a good ammount of money in order to buy the dev kits (about $10k each).

But in fact there is an alternative. Torque game engine may allow you to write a PC game and as its portable you may port it to a console easilly in case a console publisher is interested. Maybe you can find some info about this in the GarageGames website.

Luck!
Guimo

PC's are cool: they're more versatile then consoles and they're more cutting-edge. Just remember that PC users almost always had the chance to play online games, while console users only just have.
Programming for pc has also had the tendency to be alot easier over history. (PSX assembler, remember :) )
Conclusion: Overal, the PC IS JUST BETTER then any console.