Gimbal lock problem...

Started by
5 comments, last by LorenzoGatti 16 years, 7 months ago
Hi all, Recently, I have a discussion about gimbal lock with a guy. He is convinced that all rotation representations have gimbal lock problem, including 4x4 rotation matrix, axis angles, quaternion etc... . His argument is something like... "Since Euler angle suffer from gimbal lock, as we can convert it to others rotation representations, all rotation representations suffer from gimbal lock." I have tried very hard to told him gimbal lock is only an issue when you try to control rotation with Euler angles (or following the idea of Euler angles ). I failed to convince him. Can anyone help me out? ( Either correcting me or him is perfectly fine. )
Advertisement
Besides, I wrote a simple rotation interface which can avoid gimbal lock. Please double check for me that whether the following program can or cannot provide a rotation interface with 3 degree of freedom without gimbal lock.

Here is the source code of the program...

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <string.h>

#include <GL/glut.h>

float mo[16];

void init_mo();
void update_mo( float angle, float x, float y, float z );

void display();
void keyboard( unsigned char key, int x, int y );

void main( int argc, char **argv )
{

glutInitDisplayMode( GLUT_DOUBLE | GLUT_RGB | GLUT_DEPTH );
glutInitWindowSize( 512, 512 );

glutCreateWindow( "gimbal_lock" );
glutDisplayFunc( display );
glutKeyboardFunc( keyboard );

init_mo();

glutMainLoop();
}

void display()
{
GLint viewport[4];
glGetIntegerv( GL_VIEWPORT, viewport );

glEnable( GL_DEPTH_TEST );
glEnable( GL_LIGHTING );
glEnable( GL_LIGHT0 );

glClearColor( .1, .2, .3, 1 );
glClear( GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT );

glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glLoadIdentity();
gluPerspective( 45, double(viewport[2])/viewport[3], 0.1, 10 );

glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glLoadIdentity();
gluLookAt( 0,0,3, 0,0,0, 0,1,0 );
glMultMatrixf(mo);

glutSolidTeapot(.7);