Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.


[java] Anyone know about Mac java problems?


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
14 replies to this topic

#1 Big_Bad_Bill   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 10 May 2001 - 04:29 AM

In my computer science class, I''ve been recruited by my teacher to search for a browser that will work on our old macs (ewww!) and supprt java. I found that IE 4.01 will work on these machines, and it took me forever, but I found an old enough version of Mac Runtime Java to work as well. The purpose of these tasks was so we (the students) could check our teacher''s online gradebook which he wrote in java. The problem is, his applet now runs, but when you put in your password to access your grades, it gives me errors and doesn''t display the grades. The errors it gives me look like they are problems with his code, but I''m not very proficient in java yet and it also runs on all of our Windows machines at home, so it may be problems with the macs. If interested in helping me solve this problem please email me at stuffnotherstuff@hotmail.com and I''ll share the errors and hopefully I can get these old machines to be able to access the online gradebook. Bill

Sponsor:

#2 Jim_Ross   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 10 May 2001 - 11:07 AM

Sounds like he gave you an impossible task. Just because he gives out specs doesn''t mean they can be met at all. Post the exact errors if you want more detailed help. Other than that, java + macs = trouble.

#3 Big_Bad_Bill   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 10 May 2001 - 02:58 PM

Here''s the error''s it gives me:

Applet error message:

5/10/2001 @ 8:53:2
Java Exception: java.lang.NoSuchMethodError - java.lang.Character:
method
getNumericValue©I not found
Stack Trace:
java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: java.lang.Character: method
getNumericValue©I
not found
at pinApplet.encodeString(pinApplet.java:202)
at pinApplet.checkThePin(pinApplet.java:239)
at pinApplet.action(pinApplet.java:134)
at java.awt.Component.handleEvent(Component.java)
at java.awt.Component.postEvent(Component.java)
at java.awt.Component.postEvent(Component.java)
at sun.awt.macos.MEvent.post(MEvent.java)
at apple.jam.JMAWTContext.run(JAMSessionFrameHolder.java)


#4 lilspikey   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 11 May 2001 - 03:25 AM

Sounds like the version of MRJ you have is only 1.0. getNumericValue on Character has only existed since java 1.1. Try getting a newer version of the MRJ. Either that or get your teacher to give you a java 1.0 compatible version of the applet.

MRJ is on about version 2.2 (pre OS X), and should support java 1.1.8. It should be fine if you get a recent version. Though if these macs are very old you might have trouble. If you have MacOS 8.1 (or higher you should be fine), just look at http://www.apple.com/java/ or http://developer.apple.com/java/

Anyway, most of the problems with macs stem form the fact that they''re not like normal computers (which might be why some people like them). No command line, GUI all the way up, no "working directory" etc.

#5 Big_Bad_Bill   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 11 May 2001 - 01:34 PM

That is somwhat helpful, but I installed MRJ 1.5.1 on them, the highest I could find that will run on them. I hate macs with a passion, but they have started to interest me a little. I''ve looked, but is there a Microsoft Virtual Machine for Macs anywhere? Or any other virtual machine for a mac?

#6 lilspikey   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 13 May 2001 - 04:22 AM

Glad to hear you''re finding some interest in macs (they''re not as bad as some people would have you believe, they just don''t work like WinTel boxes).

I think you''re a bit buggered tho'' if you can''t get MRJ higher than 1.5.1, that seems to be the only version that isn''t java 1.1
compatible.
Sun used to do java for the mac, but apple took all responsibility for producing java later. The only other JVM I now of for the mac is the netscape VM, but it''s also only java 1.0.
If you can upgrade the macs to System 7.6 then you should be ok. Otherwise I don''t know what to suggest. (beyond telling your teacher to get a grip and rewrite his code).

cheers,
John

#7 Big_Bad_Bill   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 14 May 2001 - 03:13 AM

I noticed the comment about having system 7.6... these machines have 7.6.1 on them, is there another version of MRJ that I could search for? Also, I don''t think my teacher would be very keen on rewriting his code to be 1.0 compatible, I could always try though.

#8 lilspikey   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 14 May 2001 - 11:01 PM


You are in luck go to:

http://developer.apple.com/java/download.html

You should see several previous versions of MRJ. Assuming you have enough hardware requirements, you should be able to get MRJ 2.1.4, which brings you up to the heady heights of java 1.1.7. That should be more than ample.

#9 Big_Bad_Bill   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 15 May 2001 - 04:27 AM

Thank you for all your help! I now have an "A" on my final project and all of our macs can now run the online gradebook applett. Thanks again.

Bill

#10 lupine   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 21 May 2001 - 02:56 PM

any way to get java 2 for mac os9?
free way that is

#11 lilspikey   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 21 May 2001 - 10:39 PM

Sorry, no. (though maybe check out codewarrior, not free, not sure whether its even java 2). You can get swing to run under OS 9.

But basically apple decided there was little point bringing java 2 to MacOS classic, when OS X when just around the corner. Why do you want java 2? Personally the only thing that''s useful is the speed boost (due to hotspot). Well that and maybe drag''n''drop. (I am probably just saying that as I have been forcing myself to only use 1.1, so that stuff works in applets).

#12 lupine   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 22 May 2001 - 07:15 AM

primarily because my main instruction manual has quite
a bit of Java 2. But since there is no choice, I''m up
for 1.1, I can probably get an older version of my book.
heh, I think I will.


#13 lupine   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 23 May 2001 - 06:14 AM

OK if im on 1.1 that brings up the questions,
"Can I use SWING?"
"Where exactly does swing come in?"

Thank You.



#14 lilspikey   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 23 May 2001 - 10:45 PM

Yes, you can use swing (as it''s basically a set of classes written in 1.1 code).

Swing gives you some "nicer" components, that are otherwise missing from the AWT. Such as tabs, and other stuff. The problem is that it is slow. Personally I use AWT, but that''s mainly because all I want is something to draw on (for games).

#15 lupine   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 25 May 2001 - 10:47 AM

quote:
[that''s mainly because all I want is something to draw on (for games).


me too, and thanks 8)







Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS