Where to go from this story?

Started by
35 comments, last by Telastyn 14 years, 6 months ago
Hello folks. I'm sure glad this forum exists. I've my share of questions. I am an undergrad, and my background is summarized here (EDIT: Link removed). I do not want to pay for college as I am nowhere near ready to put myself 62 grand in the hole. I met one of the mods here in a Starbucks, and he told me that he did not have to go to college; he just showcased his work and ended up with who found him impressive. I liked that, so I decided to try it. Just one problem... I now live in Mississippi. I'm in no rush to get out the door, but I have good skills to share and I would prefer to make use of them for profit soon. The link above takes you to my 2-3 week old site, so there isn't too much content, but enough in the portfolio to show a little of what I can do. What would be a good move for me from here? All I know how to do in the business here is to toss more work on my site and cross my fingers, hoping opportunity will call me in this yokel-ridden state. [sick] [Edited by - zyrolasting on November 4, 2009 10:35:04 AM]
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by zyrolasting
1. ...I do not want to pay for college
2. ...I now live in Mississippi. ...cross my fingers, hoping opportunity will call me in this yokel-ridden state.

1. Okay, then you have to build a doubly spectacular portfolio.
2. Wrong. This is Stupid Wannabe Trick #6. You cannot get a call from Opportunity while you live in a bad location. Read http://www.sloperama.com/advice/lesson24.htm - stop doing those things, and start doing these things instead: http://www.sloperama.com/advice/lesson27.htm Opportunity is not going to Mississippi. You have to go to Opportunity.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Quote:Okay, then you have to build a doubly spectacular portfolio.

On it.