How do you decide on a career in Game Design

Started by
9 comments, last by Shadownami92 14 years, 4 months ago
I am an MA in Design student. As part of my thesis, I am looking at the expectations young people have about the career opportunities in the game industry, how they perceive the skills needed to become successful in the field, and how they decide on their college major. I have created a short survey on SurveyMonkey. It takes only about 30 seconds to complete. I would appreciate it if you help me by responding to the questions. Here is the link for the survey: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/5CMDHHS Any other comments and suggestions are also welcome. Thank you. Albena
Advertisement
With your statements questions like "You are a creative person" or "Your dream is to become an Interior Designer", do you expect people to give hypothetical answers if those statements aren't true, or to skip the question?

"Game design" is a very specific position within a games development company. It has little to do with visual design, art or programming. So in response to question #2, I'd answer "neither" :/
Thanks for the comments and suggestions. I made some changes to the survey in order to hopefully make it more useful :)

As far as what Game Design really is, this seems to be a very broad question with many and changing answers. What attracted my attention was that the Game Design had originally started as a very narrow, strictly technical area, mostly related to computer science, software engineering, and visualization. Since then the area has exploded and now people seem to include a large variety of sub-fields, many of them non-technical.

I don't have an industry experience and am getting most of my information from literature and online resources. I am really looking forward to getting feedback from people with experience. This will be equally or even more important than building my impressions about the field from textbooks.