Vertex Buffer Object / Vertex Array Range / Vertex Array Object

Started by
3 comments, last by Danny02 13 years, 9 months ago
Hi, this is my first time programming in opengl. I have always used direct3D and dx11. I would like to know under what general situation should I use Vertex Buffer Objects, Vertex Array Range or Vertex Array Object.

From what my understanding, I assume Vertex Buffer Object is similar to DX11 ID3D11Buffer. What about Vertex Array Range and Vertex Array Object?? And how are these compared to display list??

Am I right to say that contents that are created in display list are fixed and non changeable??

And lastly I read that pbuffers are legend and should not be used (in place of frame buffer objects)?? why is that so??

thank you
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by littlekid
I would like to know under what general situation should I use Vertex Buffer Objects, Vertex Array Range or Vertex Array Object.

Wenever you want to draw something you should use Vertex Buffer Objects (VBOs). Vertex Arrays (VA) are predecessors of VBOs and keep data always on the client side (read: in system memory), so every drawing requires to transfer the whole buffers to GPU's memory. Vertex Array Objects encapsulate client states (like enabled attributes) and is not recommended for the performance reasons, especially if you have a lot of VAOs. For a small number performances are very good.

Quote:Original post by littlekidFrom what my understanding, I assume Vertex Buffer Object is similar to DX11 ID3D11Buffer. What about Vertex Array Range and Vertex Array Object?? And how are these compared to display list??

VBO is the same as D3D buffer. Furthermore, with new extensions you can directly use D3D buffers and surfaces from the OpenGL!