DirectX11 and Alt+Tab

Started by
6 comments, last by NSG 13 years, 6 months ago
I'm new to DirectX11 after lots of programming in DirectX9. I find it's far cleaner and smarter, generally I like it.

I'm having a problem with it's alt+tab handling, I turned the automatic handling of it off as I very much disliked DXGI's auto handling. Now all resizing and full screen switching is done by my application.

The problem is that when in full screen, if I alt+tab, the program goes back to windowed automatically and since the application didn't actually initiate this, the back buffer and etc are still at the same resolution as when in full screen.

I don't want windows to automatically window my full screen app just because of alt+tab, basically I'm looking for functionality similar to DirectX9 where alt+tab doesn't do anything to the window but activate another.
Advertisement
I think that you'll have to let the swapchain handle the alt+tab then. What problems are you having with the spawchain's handling that caused you to disable it? Perhaps we can help you through any difficulties.
I had the same problems I'm having now only if you use the DXGI_SWAP_CHAIN_FLAG_ALLOW_MODE_SWITCH flag for the swap chain, you have to handle changing render targets and back buffer etc in WM_SIZE which just felt very messy and annoying. I would prefer the application decide when to change what.
So basically even if I let DXGI handle alt+tab, it would still be the same problem I'm having now, which is that alt+tabbing out of a full screen D3D11 application causes it to revert to a windowed application.