Best Game Engine for Beginners

Started by
9 comments, last by TopazGames 12 years, 3 months ago
I'm an aspiring game designer with lots of ideas and no real experience. In the past I've dabbled with Gamemaker, RPG Maker, and other such engines, but in the long run I'm looking for more freedom and to learn real world game-making skills.
First of all, what program language is most commonly compatible with popular engines like Unreal Engine and others? I've only learned HTML so far and I'm looking to learn a more useful one, since it seems like a starting game-designer has to program a lot of stuff by themselves. C++ ?
Now to the game engines:
There is a free version of the Unreal Engine out. Have you guys tried it? Does the Unreal Engine work well for games that aren't shooters? What 3D engine would be good for a 3D side-scroller or game with an isometric view?
Would modding be an easier place to start? Is experience with, say, Gary's Mod useful?
Or should I make a few 2D games first? I've messed around with Game Maker tutorials and such, is it a realistic task to make a full-scale game from scratch with programming, or is Game Maker a good place to start?
It should be said that I'm more interested in game design than learning complicated programming stuff, but programming seems to be involved in all entry-level positions in the video game industry, so I'm assuming that it's something I need to learn.
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by generic_username
First of all, what program language is most commonly compatible with popular engines like Unreal Engine and others?

Unreal has its own script language (kismet). Lua is a popular script language in other engines, and sometimes as a designer you'll need to involve a programmer, which typically means C++

I've only learned HTML so far

HTML is just a way to mark up documents to make them pretty, it has nothing to do with programming