Any recommendations for a game engine?

Started by
19 comments, last by Zakwayda 13 years ago
Hello, all!

I’m searching for a game engine to stick with and I’ve triedout a few. I’ve tried Unity 3D (which I’veworked with extensively when I was in school), UDK, Visual 3D, C4 Engine and,briefly, a few others. I’m looking foran engine that dishes out quality games and has a nice user interface. I am a coder so the programming language doesn't exactly matter because I'll learn whatever I need to. I see most engines in C++ anyway so I figure that I'll end up learning C++ one way or the other. I really likedVisual 3D’s interface, camera controls and terrain editor. One of the best terrain editors I’ve usedthus far. I am leaning towards the C4Engine. But I am still “shopping around”.

So, does anyone recommend an engine in particular?

Thank you for any suggestions.

Developers, developers, developers, developers.
Advertisement
Moving to Game Programming, where this is likely to get more of the attention it deserves :)

Wielder of the Sacred Wands
[Work - ArenaNet] [Epoch Language] [Scribblings]

haha Thank you, ApochPiQ.

I continued searching after this post and ran into the Vision engine. That engine looks promising.

I would honestly rather an engine using C# because I enjoy that language but again I have no problem learning other things.

Still on my list is C4 Engine, Vision engine and sticking with Unity 3D.
You could also try looking at the ShiVa Engine. (I seem to be saying that a lot recently...)
It's another WYSIWYG editor and uses C++ and Lua.

If you already know C# and enjoy it then I'd recommend Unity, but I'm just throwing another option into the mix.
C4 Engine is one of the best I've tried, Visual 3D wasn't bad.

I'd certainly avoid Torque though, with GarageGames you never know when they're going to take your money and leave you with an incomplete product or pull features and then try and charge you more for them later on.