Programmer looking for artist / co-designer

Started by
3 comments, last by xaviersythe 13 years ago
[color="#1C2837"]Brief description:
I'm a programmer looking for a dedicated, motivated artist, either 2D or 3D, to develop a small (but professional looking) game with, from design/concept to completion. I have no game design currently.
[color="#1C2837"]
Target aim:
The target aim is to complete a small, free-ware game to gain experience in the overall game development process and to possibly meet other developers interested in later pursuing larger projects.

Compensation:
No compensation. I have no plans to monetise the project. If it turned out to be of sufficient quality there is no reason why that couldn't happen (and it's certainly a possibility), but it's not the primary goal of the project.

Technology:
This will depend on the game style and design we end up choosing, and whether or not you are a 2D artist or a 3D artist. Good options for engine/framework are (I'm open to suggestions):
[color="#1C2837"]- C4 Engine - I have an unlimited standard (full source indie) license for this. It only costs per programmer seat so you won't have to shell out anything as an artist.
[color="#1C2837"]- Unity
[color="#1C2837"]- UDK
[color="#1C2837"]- XNA

[color="#1C2837"]Advantages/disadvantages of each mostly depend on what the project is, so that is something that needs to be decided first.

[color="#1C2837"]From the purely art side of things it's really up to you what software you use

[color="#1C2837"]Talent needed:
2D/3D artist, art director and co-designer. (all in one.. :/)

[color="#1C2837"]The only thing I will really have to go on is an art portfolio so that is a necessity.
[color="#1C2837"]
Team structure:
Me - Programmer/Designer

[color="#1C2837"]I also know a couple of people who can help with sound production (composition and effects).

Contacts: