• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

I need advice on breaking a bad habit; 'if' & while reliance' (C++)

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
18 replies to this topic

#1 Walkerism   Members   -  Reputation: 108

0Likes

Posted 27 June 2011 - 06:43 AM

Hi guys,

I'm starting to notice what I'm calling a problem early on. Whenever I create code I have too much of a tendency to use 'if' and 'while' loops, which I know is bad practice. The problem lies in that I'm still learning the syntax in C++, but at this stage I keep thinking in terms of of 'if' or 'while' which is resulting in needlessly complicated code. Can anyone offer me some advice on how to think outside of these two notions?

Sponsor:

#2 braindigitalis   Members   -  Reputation: 230

0Likes

Posted 27 June 2011 - 06:49 AM

Can you maybe give an example of how you think you are misusing the language then we may be able to advise...

Games Currently In Development:

Currently rewriting Firework Factory - Casual Puzzler for PC in Direct3D 11. Latest Journal Entry.

#3 way2lazy2care   Members   -  Reputation: 782

0Likes

Posted 27 June 2011 - 06:55 AM

Hi guys,

I'm starting to notice what I'm calling a problem early on. Whenever I create code I have too much of a tendency to use 'if' and 'while' loops, which I know is bad practice. The problem lies in that I'm still learning the syntax in C++, but at this stage I keep thinking in terms of of 'if' or 'while' which is resulting in needlessly complicated code. Can anyone offer me some advice on how to think outside of these two notions?