Introduction, Music, and Questions

Started by
1 comment, last by Kralc 12 years, 8 months ago
Hi, new to the forum, some really cool stuff here,

Having being playing music (and games) for a ages now, although I'm new to writing this style of music,
I would love to get into composing music for games, so here's an extremely general question, How do I do that? tongue.gif I'm not really sure what questions to be asking, so hopefully this is okay.

Thanks.
Advertisement
First of all, Welcome to the forum. I really enjoyed listening to your music, thanks for sharing. Here is my opinion regarding your question.

When it comes to writing music for games, you've got two things you need to focus on: Writing kick ass music, and making connections. The first thing you're going to want to do is get yourself a website, even if in blog format, something which says here I am, I exist, I'm a composer, here's my music. Keep it simple for now, nobody really cares how many years you've played the tuba, or whatever. The music, and your attitude will speak for itself.

When it comes to indie games - the budgets are tight. Very tight. And there's always somebody willing to do it for less, or free, or cheap, so you have to be aware of that. Now, that's not to say you should just work for the cheapest rate in town because you should ask yourself this: are they hiring me for me or are they hiring me 'cause I'm cheap? Granted when you have no experience or not much, you're going to want some projects under your belt, and that may mean working for cheap, or free. But be careful what you do. If all you care about is experience, then just reply to every 14 year old kid making an MMORPG and do the soundtrack, at the very worst you've got a catalogue of epic tracks to sell later, or release to other game developers....