Best way to learn the basics of Java?

Started by
15 comments, last by Stevenx514 12 years, 8 months ago
I'm a CS major and we're required to take an introductory Java course first semester. I signed up late and the course is full, so I have to attempt to test out next semester if I don't want to be a semester behind. My friend who took the test told me if you could program, you would be fine. I've been reading from my textbook and the java tutorials at Oracle. I copy code into my compiler and try to understand what each line does. I attempt to write my own code, but I usually have to look at examples to get the syntax right. If I continue this for an hour or two each day all semester will I be okay? Any suggestions?
Advertisement
It's like all the other languages you already know.

You do love programming, which is what made you sign up for CS in the first place, right?

If not, switch to math or physics. Or law.

Honest advice.
<div>I've never programmed in any language before. A better question would be "How do people learn to program in general?" My high school didn't offer any programming classes, and believe it or not there are a lot of freshmen CS majors who have never programmed.</div>
While the way you are learning it can surely work, I personally would concentrate my learning to the right things with a proper teacher. If you have the bucks to give out, order a book from Amazon.

There are many books that cover the topic. Java for Dummies(432 pages) and Head first Java(688) are really good picks for beginner and easy to follow or if these do not suit you, you could pick something else.
When learning with book and if the book has examples, be sure to complete them. In addition, making up your own problems that apply the concepts you learned is a great way too.
[size=2]Ruby on Rails, ASP.NET MVC, jQuery and everything else web.. now also trying my hand on games.