Another Go at Programming - Advice appreciated

Started by
9 comments, last by menyo 12 years, 4 months ago
Hi gamedev.net,

A while ago, I came across this site when I first decided to get into game programming, but with my lack of experience with programming, and a lot of stress from work, I ended up giving up. That won't happen this time.

I quit my job and now have a new job and a new home. So now it is time to start programming again, now that I have the time, motivation and confidence.

I know that most likely 80% of newcomers say this, but I have to say it anyway. I do not have a lot of experience with programming, but I do have some.

I am experienced with basic and - I guess you could say - some intermediate programming in C#, although most of it lies in school projects. Not to say that's bad in any way.

Guess I'd best get to the point.

My experience with C++ is close to none and I wish to change that. That is why I am here to ask for a bit of advice.

I am not good at following books and such and I am looking for a different way to learn C++. What I am intending to do is start with some (very) small projects and work my way up from there, gathering information as I go. But I am having a hard time coming up with something to start out with. All my ideas are too big to start out with. I know I would get lost rather quickly if I decided to do any of these projects now.

The goal is, of course, to eventually start programming small games - but before I can do that, I need a much better understanding of the programming language.

So that's why I hope you will be able to give me some ideas of small projects I can do in order to teach myself C++. Please note that suggestions about a "Hello World!" program is not what I am looking for... I'm looking for a slightly bigger challenge.