• Create Account

Create a Game Engine

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
47 replies to this topic

#1 Sugavanas   Members   -  Reputation: 153

-6Likes

Posted 24 October 2012 - 10:26 PM

Hello guys, I want to create a game engine and i am confused with things. Can anyone say the things i need to know please..

Sponsor:

#2 kidman171   Members   -  Reputation: 498

11Likes

Posted 24 October 2012 - 10:30 PM

I'm no expert on game engine programming but I can tell you that your question is way too vague for a topic way too large. If you want good answers you need to ask specific questions. Be specific on what you are confused with.

#3 Inukai   Members   -  Reputation: 1282

6Likes

Posted 24 October 2012 - 11:21 PM

http://scientificninja.com/blog/write-games-not-engines

#4 Tasaq   Members   -  Reputation: 1156

8Likes

Posted 24 October 2012 - 11:25 PM

First of all, I would recomend you to plan and answer some questions like:
which programming language I chose?
what the engine will be used for (what kind of games)?
Which platform you are aiming for(windows, unix, consoles, mobile)?
Which api will you use (directx or openGL obviously, but also some 3rd party or frameworks, like xna, sdl, devIL, assimp etc.)?
Also chosing good architexture is important (I am deferred shading or other variations).
And much more, you can figure the rest out :)

After that the best idea is to plan your project. Use a piece of paper, or if you can an app, to create a model of your engine(I use Visio for instance). It's very crucial, because you need to plan your project, think of what you need, how to combine it into one, for instance which class agragates other, or which one derives after other. Imagine what would have happened if you would make a planning mistake during codding - ouch...