Game Company Samooja reporting in! (Life turning point)

Started by
1 comment, last by Kossad 11 years, 4 months ago
Hey!

Hello everyone! First of all, I'm sincerely sorry for my weirdo English which may cause troubles for some of the readers but I'm pretty sure that everyone understand (almost) everything or at least get the main point of my saying. :)

I'm a game developer, I'v been working inside game industry (in Finland) for approximately two years. I'v worked in various project, but the one I'd like to mention must be AirBuccaneers which got greenlighted in Steam while ago and got released just couple of days ago. In this project I worked as an 3D artist and Project manager. Now at the start of December I decided to start building a company of my own. Fortunately I didn't have to start doing this all by myself and one of the company (which I left) employee started this journey with me. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the company in which we were working, but we had this burning passion to work with games which WE love to work with. The whole point is that we want to have fun while doing these games, not only when playing the complete build.

Our plans is to move in Southern-Finland and start to run my friends cafeteria during the Summer times. From this, we get enough cash to eat and sleep (kinda) comfortably but ALSO do game development during the off-season! Because of our cafeteria work, we dont have to stress about sales of our games or such things, which normally make new game companies struggle in pain. We started to work with our first project right after we stopped working in the other company. Right now we are doing design while our programmer is creating the main parts for our first game. Unfortunately our programmer isn't able to work with the project after January, 2013. Hopefully we get our main parts of the game complete and we can start work with the art right after that.