I have a game idea... what do I do first?

Started by
9 comments, last by Leikaru 11 years, 3 months ago

Hi. I'm relatively new to here, so if I posted it in the wrong place, then sorry. Basically, I have a game idea, and have got it down a document so I don't forget it. My question is, what would I do once the idea is in my head? I mean, for a few years it will probably be a game idea, because I'm still learning how to program. Any help is appreciated.

Cheers,

Leikaru

As A Beginning Developer, please don't expect much from me.

[background='Grey']I'm planning a game to make. Want details? Hmm, maybe later.[/background]

Advertisement

You could start by searching these forums for threads started by people in similar circumstances, for instance this one started yesterday.

You could start by searching these forums for threads started by people in similar circumstances, for instance this one started yesterday.

No, I've done nothing on the game yet. He's done something with his game, where as I've done nothing.

[background='Grey']I'm planning a game to make. Want details? Hmm, maybe later.[/background]

My advice?

The absolute first thing you need to learn is how to glean knowledge from other people's experiences.

Wielder of the Sacred Wands
[Work - ArenaNet] [Epoch Language] [Scribblings]

My advice?

The absolute first thing you need to learn is how to glean knowledge from other people's experiences.

Thanks for the advice. It's definitely a good idea.

Before you start programming your own game ideas, its best to start off by making some simple game concepts, like:

rock paper scissors,

crossword,

snake,

packman,

make a few basic games like that so you understand the processes involved, then try to make your game idea. Do it in really small baby steps though, and don't just dive in plan out what your going to do and how first.