Starting 3D Modeling - or sculpting? Advise please

Started by
11 comments, last by Shaun Williams 11 years, 2 months ago
Hi,

I'm currently a student of computer science. While I see myself for as the programmer type, I wanted to have a deeper understanding on how to create 3d Models, textures and so on.
In the past I tried a couple of different technologies and mostly spend my time creating simple 2D games, but Unity3D got me interested. There are some nice tutorials out there but they all come with assets which I am not able to modify. So I really would like to create some basic stuff myself and just place it into Unity3D and interact with it in some way.

What I would like to do:
- Create a simple building to walk around in, maybe add a door which opens and closes. I figure once I manage to create a simple house it should be possible for me to create some larger level to walk around in. For Islands I can use the Unity build in tools, but in their current demo (this top down game) the main building is huge and seems to be one part build in some 3d Model tool.

- Create a simple animated character to be used in game. For the complexity level I think something like the Models from Final Fantasy VII on the Playstation one. Create basic animation and use it in Unity.

Now I looked around and obviously I came across Maya, 3DS Max and Blender. Since I am a Student I have equal access to all of them. I searched for some books / video tutorial and found some for Blender but they all lack something. Still I am unsure which software to use.

And then I found some Sculpture tools, like 3d Coat or even now from Autodesk 123D on the iPad. It seems that those tools are made to create characters and not objects like buildings and I can't animate them on the iPad but it could be a start, and then import the model into some other tool on the PC. But apparently sculpting needs more artistic experience then I expected (well last time I sculpted clay was in elementary school).