C++ for Gaming Industry

Started by
19 comments, last by GameDev.net 11 years, 1 month ago

Hi guys.

I'd like to pose a question for people who've been around for a while. I decided to guide my studies checking hiring requirements of gaming companies. When I didn't know whether to go with C++, Java, Unity or the HTML5 Stack (HTML5, CSS3 and JavaScript), I checked job offers and noticed the most promising ones were C++-related. So I'm going with C++.

The thing is: what do they mean with "C++"? Core? Is there something intrinsic to that sentence, like OpenGL, SDL, SFML (which seems to be built on top of OpenGL), ...? I'm currently studying SFML, but I have no idea if it's industry-accepted, so I just might be wasting my time. So, I ask: should I direct my studies to something specific, or all that is needed is core C++...?

Thanks everyone =]

Advertisement

I doubt that SFML is particularly widely used in the games industry since most companies will either buy or develop an engine with cross-platform functionality that includes consoles/mobiles, etc. That's not a negative though, use SFML or SDL for your demos and experiments so you can get on with the interesting stuff instead of messing around with awkward platform functionality.

That said a familiarity with OpenGL and/or Direct3D will probably be considered a plus from a new hire. Looking briefly at SFML it seems you can choose to use their abstracted 2D graphics calls, or just use SFML to handle the windowing and use OpenGL calls direct. I'd recommend you do the latter.

What C0lumbo said. SFML or SDL are not industry relevant tech in themselves, but they get you up to speed a ton faster than building everything yourself from the ground up. When you have something (anything) that is a working whole, you can then iterate on it and add more tech.