Help split simple string in c

Started by
10 comments, last by shadowisadog 10 years, 10 months ago

Hi,

I have to split simple string in c.

char readLine[7]; //Get from a file, Examples: "001:330", "01:330", "01:33", "333:01"
char num1[3];
char num2[3];

//How can I get for example num1="001", num2="330"

I am not good with char manupalation. Please help me how I can split with delimiter ":"

I think should be easy since I know the line from file can be at most 7 characters, and in above format, so I don't need to do any other handling.

Thanks for your help!

Advertisement

In C, you would use strchr from string.h to do that.

Simple implementation

char* strchr(const char* str, int ch)
{
    while(*str && *str != (char)ch) str++;
    return (*str == (char)ch ? str : NULL);
}

I don't know why it takes an int rather than a char as second argument ;)

Using char[3] for num1 and num2 is not good, you need to leave room for the '\0' terminator if you are going to use it as a null terminated string later on, so make them char[4] instead. EDIT: And readLine nees to be char[8] as well.

EDIT: Whoops, used str instead of ch in the return statement there, fixed now.

"Most people think, great God will come from the sky, take away everything, and make everybody feel high" - Bob Marley

Perhaps this will help:

http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/cstring/strtok/

Yep, that's probably the best plan although since he is only looking for a single delimiter character it's easy to roll your own version using strchr. Looks a bit like homework so I didn't go into too much detail.

"Most people think, great God will come from the sky, take away everything, and make everybody feel high" - Bob Marley

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>

int divideAndRefer(char* base, char** num1, char** num2){
    char* delimiter = strchr(base, ':');
    if (delimiter != NULL){
        *delimiter = '\0';
        *num1 = base;
        *num2 = delimiter + 1;
        return 1;
    }
    return 0;
}