Programming Language selection for Unity3D

Started by
9 comments, last by 3Ddreamer 10 years, 9 months ago

Hello, I'm a beginner here and in programming in general as frequent as that is, I have already stablished my project in documentation, the engine im planning on using, a 2.5D game and some other basics.

I chose unity, I've alredy built basic scenes there and it feels confortable so I plan on developing my game with, but Unity only lets you use C# , Javascript and Boo (Which I understand is a variation or dialect of python) , the game I'm planning on developing is sorta like a Castlevania Synphony of the Night / ish sort of game, so I was wondering among those 3 which language works best or is less limited at that.

I kno very basic C++ and Java so it really can go either way considering i still have a lot to learn.

Thanks

Advertisement

All 3 languages (Its actually UnityScript, not Javascript btw, they are related but not identical) have "full"(There are a few restrictions in the free version of Unity but they apply equally to all 3 languages) access to the .Net framework(or mono rather), they all get compiled to MSIL and can all do exactly the same things, Use whichever language you like best.

C# is probably the most popular one as it also has a solid community outside of Unity, UnityScript is only used by Unity and Boo is kinda obscure (It is quite different from Python)

[size="1"]I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!
Unity3D doesn't use the same "Javascript" that is used in web development, but its own dialect that is commonly known as "UnityScript". If you already know Java, you should use C# because both languages are very similar, C# has more features than "UnityScript" and because you will probably find more information and tutorials (outside of the Unity Community) about C# than the other two languages together.

Thanks guys .