coin flip problem

Started by
29 comments, last by rip-off 10 years, 8 months ago

Hi all i'm new, I started learning a week or so ago and have joined to the forum so I can get some help and eventually contribute to the community. I am reading a number of books and online guides and have come across a problem I cannot solve when creating a simple coin flip randomizer.

#include <ctime>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int choice;

int randRange (int low, int high)
{
        return rand() % ( high - low ) + low;
    }

int main ()
{

cout << "flip a coin? \n\n1: Yes\n\n2: No\n";
 cin >> choice;
 if (choice == 1)
    {

srand ( time( NULL ) );
            randRange( 1 , 10 );
            if (randRange >= 5)
            {
                cout << "Heads";
            }
else
            {
            cout << "Tails";
            }
    }
else if (choice == 2)
            {
            cout << "Boooo";
            return 0;
            }

}

I am getting a error on the if (randRange >= 5) line, the compiler says that c++ forbids a comparison between pointer and integer, but as far as I am aware I am not using a pointer.

reply's would be gratefully welcomed.

Advertisement

My experience with C++ is pretty limited but I think I might be able to help here.

It looks like you are calling the randRange function before entering the if statement, and you are assuming that the result is stored in a variable that is called randRange. What you need to do is either store the return value of the function call into a variable, or just call the function within the if statement. I prefer the latter, and here's a small example:

if (randRange(1, 10) >= 5) {
    // do stuff here
}

That should solve your current problem.