Why it is so hard?

Started by
13 comments, last by Greg Quinn 10 years, 2 months ago

I'm Daniel Gomes a 31 dev from Brazil.

I'm a senior financial developer for quite some time but I'm developing my first game, Jetpack Race.

I'm posting on forums, interacting with people and trying to create som network, get to know some other devs, and other kind of professinals. My main goal, for now is to find some 2D and 3D artist to work on the game.

But seems like every single professional is already occupied! No artist seems to be looking for some challenge. I mean, I know that my project does not involve money, only profit-share, but is very ease to find programmers and even musicians, the same doesn't happen for visual artists.

Why is so hard to find visual artists? I'm not on this market so could someone explain why "visual artists" are sooooo busy

I think they dont take freelance projects very often and just work on agencies and marketing companies.

Do you guys have the same feeling about it?

Advertisement

I am not sure how artists could be hard to find, but to tell you the truth, if I were an artist, I too would be skeptical of these "profit-sharing" projects.

It's much easier to pay things up front. Profit sharing is what mostly inexperienced developers would promise. They can't pay, so they promise they would share profit. Is there even a profit to begin with? How can you guarantee profit?

Daniel, it's hard because:

1. Everything is hard.

2. You're not offering fair compensation. "Profit-share" is just another word for "work for me for free," and everybody knows it except you. I'm not saying this to make you mad, or to start an argument. It's a fact. If you have a serious project, you need to write a serious business plan that shows how your business will make a profit, and get some funds so you can pay people up front.