C++ SDL - Deleting dynamically allocated objects

Started by
15 comments, last by Servant of the Lord 10 years, 2 months ago

Hello GDNet. I am studying the SDL library and while doing so i find myself in troubles back in the C++ basics.
The question is : If you delete an object that is dynamically allocated, and then try it again does it cause problems or leaks ?

The issue is as follows:

I have a Sprite class which basically deals with loading sprites and drawing them onto the screen.

I have Game class with functions like Init() Draw() Update() Quit().

I dynamically create new sprites in the Game class for each image i want to draw, and then i delete objects in the Quit() function.

In the main game loop i experimented with some things. I attached a key event to delete specific sprite object which actually removes the

sprite from the screen and clears the allocated memory. Note that i did that in the game loop. And in the Quit function i also delete

that object. Is this ok ? It does not seem to crash the program or anything but what happens behind the scenes ?

This can be an issue when the Player kills an Enemy and i free that specific object, and then back in the Quit function i try to
free the garbage again.

Here is some code for reference

game.cpp

Sprite Background = new Sprite();

Game::Initialize()
{
    Background->LoadSprite("bg.bmp");
    /........../
}

Game::Loop()
{
    while(Running){
      while(PollEvent){
         if(KEY == "x"){
            delete Background;
           Background = NULL;
        }
     }
   }
}

Game::Quit()
{
    //Background once deleted and now again ?
    delete Background;
}
Advertisement

If you try to call delete on a NULL pointer, it will be ignored.

There's no necessity of a null check like:

if (pointer)
    delete pointer;

Even less:

delete pointer; //Free allocated memory.
pointer = NULL;
delete pointer; //Just to make sure.