Starting game making help

Started by
9 comments, last by Benjamin Jimenez 9 years, 10 months ago

Hello everyone,

Quite a time i want to make a 3D FPS game, but the problem is that i have no programming skills.

I wanted to use an engine like cryengine or unreal, but many people say that's to hard to begin with without programming skills.

Some people said to me that i should start with unity. My question is now: Can i do this, or do i need to learn a programming language in order to make a game. I already started java once, but it was really hard and i didn't understand much of it. So if you say that i need to learn a programming language first and you think java is good, could you please tell me a good source or way to learn it.

Many many thanks!!!

Advertisement

I'm by no means an expert, from what I gather though you should begin with what you want to make. Depending on the style of game your going to make that will dictate which engine you should use.

For example if you just want to make a 2D game you might want to look at rpg maker or even some of the simpler enginge like game maker so you can get a feel of the process before you commit to a larger project. I know serious developers scoff at these but I feel they are a good building block to understand some core criteria in constructing a game and it is laid out for beginers.

Where as if you want to make a 3D fps or action game for the PC then you've got a lot of options like unreal, cry engine, unity, etc.

As far as where to start just you tube it, I created a wave zombie FPS in unity just looking up different tutorials on you tube. there are hundreds of videos for the different engines and coding types to create the basics of many different game types.

To answer if you need programming skills, well if your doing it alone yes you do. Even if you team up with a programmer you still want to understand the basics of code so it is easier for you to work together.