• Create Account

Making a 2d browser Game

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 LuckyDice   Members   -  Reputation: 110

0Likes

Posted 14 August 2014 - 04:34 PM

This is my first time posting on this forum, so sorry if I am posting in the wrong section. I want to make a 2d multiplayer browser shooter, but am not sure if which languages to do it in. I was thinking of using Angular JS for client side, and PHP for back end. I am still learning those languages and don't know much yet, but I was hoping for some confirmation or a better suggestion in the languages I should use.

Sponsor:

#2 xDarkShadowKnightx   Members   -  Reputation: 405

5Likes

Posted 14 August 2014 - 07:35 PM

I would suggest (and im sure many others would too) using HTML5 client-side, and nodejs for the backend. That way everything is in the same language (which should allow for smoother integration between the two). With that said I suggest you use the socket.io library for networking. Its pretty simple to use and is an awesome library! Also.. welcome to the forums! I think you'll like it here :)

#3 LuckyDice   Members   -  Reputation: 110

1Likes

Posted 14 August 2014 - 11:35 PM

Thanks for the quick reply :) . You've been very helpful

#4 Buster2000   Members   -  Reputation: 1681

0Likes

Posted 15 August 2014 - 01:42 AM

HTML5 front end and node seconded.

#5 Shippou   Members   -  Reputation: 1556

2Likes

Posted 15 August 2014 - 02:30 AM

Be aware that you need to have quite a bit of IT knowledge to get Node.js and Socket.io to operate correctly on your server.

If you choose remote hosting service , Node.js & Socket.io are either poorly supported or  complicated to set up .

Edited by Shippou, 15 August 2014 - 02:30 AM.

Reactions To Technologies: