What language to choose?

Started by
12 comments, last by Nypyren 9 years, 6 months ago

Pretty sure this has been asked a thousand times, I've read a lot about it, but I'm still not sure!

I want to create simple, free to play games, so browser games seem like my best option? Or not?

Mostly single player, but I'd also like to be able to add some player interaction, doesn't have to be real time, although the possibility is a plus.

Probably going for full text-based games so won't be needing fancy graphics.

I'm a pretty decent programmer, I just lack experience.

I know C#, VB, Java, PHP, HTML, SQL and I'm pretty sure I can pick up any other language pretty quickly.

The main thing is my games should be easy to access, no downloads or anything!

The more possibilities the better.

I'm pretty good with HTML / PHP / SQL (haven't used HTML5 yet) but I seem to lack possibilities just using PHP especially when trying to add multiplayer content.

Don't really like Java because the updates are really annoying and not everyone has Java installed on their computer.

Not sure about Flash, but seems like a good option?

Maybe HTML5, haven't really looked into it yet?

Any other options?

Would C# / C++ be an option for simple browser games or is that just silly?

Advertisement
For my general language starter advice, read this
http://www.gamefromscratch.com/post/2011/08/04/I-want-to-be-a-game-developer.aspx

These days however, I would probably let the library I want to use decide the language. Languages are becoming more alike every day, so it is becoming less and less of a factor.

That said, in terms of "easy to access, no downloads", unless you literally mean no downloads, this should be a non factor, pretty much every language can be bundled into a single downloadable executable these days. It can get a bit large, as you are linking everything into the executable, but really, what's a say... 20mb download these days?