Easiest coding language?

Started by
24 comments, last by JohnnyCode 9 years, 4 months ago

Hello people!

I am new to all this coding and game making stuff and would like to know the easiest coding language to learn and make games from. Planning to make a 3D game. Leave some suggestions and maybe a link to a good tutorial! smile.png

Thanks! biggrin.png See ya around.

Advertisement

I'd argue C# with Unity, but you are probably asking the wrong question(s) at this time.

Did you read the sticky at the top of this forum? It links to a FAQ with good information of this sort.

define easiest... tongue.png

really, just start. Any language will do at your current position. You will have months and years of learning how to program ahead before you can start worrying about making your 3D Game.

Start much smaller, "hello World", text adventure, pong, tetris, and so on... read FAQs and beginners turtorials and you will understand what I mean.

In the end, all of the languages relevant to game dev share common roots in C. Thus the syntax of the languages is sometimes quite close. Besides that, the core basics of programming are the same for any language involved, if you you understand what variables are, you will be able to use them in any language with just a quick google search (or a good reference book for that matter) to look up the syntax of this new language.

In the end, a good programmer most likely is versed in multiple languages, altough he might have only achieved true mastery in one (for that, you will need to know some of the weird and wonderful specialities that set apart the different languages, and some experts might know so much that they are called "living virtual machine" or "living compiler" smile.png )

Having said that, Java is among the easiest Object oriented languages I know, altough this is not as big in game dev as in other fields of software development.