I need advice regarding development of the game

Started by
6 comments, last by ChuckE 9 years, 4 months ago

Hi there!

English is not my native language so if there are some mistakes - I am sorry in advance smile.png

I want to develop a game. I have an idea and have written documents regarding it(main story, missions' descriptions(some of them), game mechanics and etc. - I was a writer in the past and it's the easiest thing for me - one of my hobbies is to create plots for stories or game mechanics. Well...whatever.

At first I wanted to write a story - but I think it won't be satisfying enough because...well...during the development writing and finalizing the plot will be essential part so...I'll kill two birds with one stone.

Then I wanted to draw comics or manga - but then realized that my drawing skills are so low-level that they can be considered as non-existentlaugh.png . So I decided to study drawing and maybe in the future I'll be able to draw art for my game smile.png.

Well...whatever.

So in the end I decided to start game development.

Back to the main topic.

As for game:

It will be RPG with pixel-like graphics in 2.5D. So basically isometric. Why? Because full 3d for pixel art....Well not that good looking and full 3D is impossible for me(I don't have any 3d modeling skills(despite having some Maya experience - but everything ended with small house and some lighting) and I'm not that interested in learing it. Also pixel art can possibly hide my bad drawing skill - after all I can draw at least non existent cars and some simple characters. Also pixel art is rather colorful and stylish.

As for language I'd like to use C++. Why? Because I enjoy shooting in the foot biggrin.png Also being a Java developer I'm rather tired of its forgiveness at work mellow.png. I have not got a lot of experience with C++ (one-two years) - so I'm planning now to look into it seriously(and in boost library too)