[UNITY] 2D Graphics Issue

Started by
3 comments, last by Vallazar 9 years, 1 month ago

I've had this problem before with Unity and I thought maybe it was just the sprites I was using, but I'm encountering it again with different sprites. At certain positions extra pixels can be seen on my tiles, in both the Scene and Game view. Sometimes, the extra pixels can be seen in Scene view and not Game view, and vice versa. Sometimes, they don't show up at all.

The only thing I can think is that my sprites weren't correctly sliced up in the sprite editor, but I did it manually and have checked several times. When I zoom in extremely close on the sprite editor, I can see the edge of the particular slice in question and it does have a very slight overlap with the tile next to it, but the editor only allows me to move in single "pixel" increments, so I can't move it out of there.

I'm very new to Unity, and I have a feeling it's something small that I just don't know or understand yet, so any help would be appreciated!

Extra pixels in both:

2bw4ux.png

Extra pixels in Game view:

2l8c2af.png

Extra pixels in Scene view:

33jkego.jpg

No extra pixels:

bf0468.png

Advertisement

This problem stems from the fact that nowadays and with software like Unity3D sprites are not blitted to screen but mapped by textures. The latter technology is not intended to map pixel perfect, so it allows for sub-pixel addressing and image scaling. Further you seem to use a sprite sheet (or, to referring to the underlying technique, a texture atlas) so that just portions of the image are used for sprite mapping. The screen shots show that in some cases the sub-pixel addressing cause neighbored pixels to bleed in.

I don't know whether Unity3D has an option to overcome this problem, something like a checkbox that enables pixel perfect rendering.