How Important is an Honours Degree in Games/Audio Industries?

Started by
22 comments, last by bschmidt1962 8 years, 4 months ago

I know there are a good few game audio legends on this forum - it's the pros that I'd really like to hear from today. Also would love to hear from those of you who are self-employed in the game or audio industries.

I completed my bachelors degree and am now half way through my honours year, but I feel like I want to drop out. I've been absolutely killing myself over this decision for months. What I hope to gain from your responses is some idea of the difference between an unclassified bachelors degree and an honours degree in both the games and audio industries. I'm more interested in being self-employed presently, but the decision to complete the degree would be based on the doors that it will open for me in terms of employment.