Need mentorship from a veteran programmer

Started by
18 comments, last by frob 7 years, 11 months ago
Hi,
I am currently doing my Masters in Game Programming at a reputed university in United States. Over the last 3 years during my under-graduation I have taught myself game programming and self published 6 games for mobiles (made with GameMaker). My games have crossed 2 Million+ downloads worldwide and have an average user rating of 4/5. Last year I picked up Unity and made 3 finished games with it. Also made a game in Unreal Engine (using Blueprints). I would say I am an intermediate programmer and can pick up any engine/language quickly. I have also made a small 2D game engine from scratch using C++ (Rendering, Collisions, File Loading, Memory Management, own Physics implementation). I am quite proficient in C, C++ and C#.
But the problem is I have applied to numerous internships (EA, Activision, Blizzard, Treyarch, Disney, Startups, Indie Studios...) and have been straight up rejected without even reaching the interview phase. I am having trouble understanding what's wrong with my resume. Also can't understand what are the technical aspects of the jobs, what are they expecting me to know. Most of the replies I read on this forum are either "make a finished game", "learn unity", "learn C++". I did, it didn't help! I have applied to jobs like Gameplay Programmer, Game Engineer, Software Engineer, which I felt I met all the requirements, in fact I felt I had more than enough skills on my resume and would easily pass the interviews (if I got one!). But I keep getting rejected at the initial resume screening phase. I understand that the industry might be competitive but I don't understand what else I could have done with my time over the last few years that would put me on the list. I've become painfully aware that I need help figuring it out.