Anyone here interested in real time strategy games and game design theory?

Started by
9 comments, last by Waterlimon 7 years, 10 months ago
Hello, everyone. I am new to this forum. I am also new to game design.

I am interested in making a new real time strategy game. Something like starcraft, Leagues, etc....all mixed up together.

I have very different theories on game design that I believe might have some promise.

At this stage, I'm just looking for someone (or people) to discuss the theory behind game design and real time strategy games.
Specifically, I'm looking for theoretical discussions that are pretty detailed (so might be boring for some people).
Advertisement

I'm just looking for someone (or people) to discuss the theory behind game design and real time strategy games.
Specifically, I'm looking for theoretical discussions that are pretty detailed (so might be boring for some people).

Start the discussion already.

BTW, I deleted your request to take the discussion offline. We aren't a place where people come to get people to hold discussions offline. We're
a place to hold discussions. So Talk to us about your theories, and don't worry about boring anybody.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Yup - this is a community where you have several people who each have a few thoughts about RTSes, most of which aren't so extremely interested in RTSes that they would want to contact you privately. So if you want to harvest all of those thoughts it requires a public discussion.

I want to help design a "sandpark" MMO. Optional interactive story with quests and deeply characterized NPCs, plus sandbox elements like player-craftable housing and lots of other crafting. If you are starting a design of this type, please PM me. I also love pet-breeding games.

Hi, Tom,

Sorry if I offended. I just had a few reasons to keep the discussion private but I don't mind starting off publicly, especially since I'm new around here.

To everyone else,

Hi all.