GunHero: 2D Action-Platformer-Shooter

Started by
11 comments, last by Tyyppi_77 7 years ago

GunHero is a 2D action-platformer-shooter filled with dangerous enemies, beautiful environments and deadly obstacles. Your job is quite simple: save the world! You can play with friends and have tons of fun with the game! The game also includes a level editor, so you will never run out of levels to play!

GunHero is on Steam Greenlight, where you can find more info about the game, including links to the game's development blog and my personal twitter where I post frequent updates about the game. If you happen to like the game and want to support a young aspiring game developer, spreading the word is much appreciated but absolutely not required!

The game is developed in C++ using SDL2 for windowing, graphics, audio and input. I have my custom framework built on top of SDL.

About Me:

I'm a 17-year-old hobbyist game developer from Finland and I launched my first Greenlight campaign last week! I've been working on the game for about two years, and I'm myself responsible for everything in the game from music to programming and from art to marketing. I'm still working hard on the game every day.

Advertisement

All right, I've got some nice progress done on the game so I thought I'd share the progress here too. For the most recent updates you should follow me on [twitter]Tyyppi_77[/twitter].

Anyways, a couple of weeks ago I realized that adding a world map to the game would be pretty awesome. So, I spent about a week working on it, and I think that the end product turned out really well. The game feels more complete, and the player can now more easily track their progress troughout the game. I also track various stats (prisoners rescued and time spent) of each level session, and display those to the player, possibly encouraging the player to replay levels where they have not rescued all prisoners or were extremely slow.

AefCwye.png