Collision Meshes / Aabb Generation

Started by
6 comments, last by Krohm 7 years, 9 months ago

Hello. I am using obj as static mesh format and I've got problem with decent collision. Generating aabb from min/max xyz fails, because i cant enter a house or go under a bridge. I am not a graphic designer myself, but I wonder if there is some way of exporting some simple collision data with the obj mesh? As far as i understand, the person creating meshes would have to create the collision boxes from several aabbs, right?

Greetz

Advertisement

You're really not providing enough information here for us to be helpful. But, why not just start by figuring out why your generated AABB are not working? You probably just have some error in your generation code, or error in the math that checks for collisions.

i am not sayin they are not working! I mean that if the house is one object and it is empty inside (so i want to walk inside) then generating aabb from min and max xyz make one box which covers entire mesh and in result i cant walk inside. I need some method for splitting the mesh into realistic set of aabbs, for example one for every wall, 1 for roof, so in the end i can move inside the house

As you said in your first post, you need someway to manually generate collision information, that information may or may be not be tied to the graphical mesh

I've always wondered about this myself.