How valid is freelance experience in good game developing companies?

Started by
5 comments, last by jenson001 7 years, 7 months ago

Hi friends,

I am a recent college graduate. I have learned game development myself through online videos and books rather than going to institutes. I have a little experience doing freelance jobs for my friends and some online online freelance opportunities. Now I would like to work for any reputed game developing company to secure a steady income. I have contacted a professional job recruiters in Toronto named The Executive wing to know about it and they suggested that experience is important in this industry. Though freelance experience is good, they say company job experience may have higher value. Do I have a chance to get a good job in gaming industry with my limited freelance experience? I would appreciate any sort of advice.

Advertisement

What does your portfolio look like? (Do you have a link to one)

Were the freelance jobs paid?

Steven Yau
[Blog] [Portfolio]

This is the toughest stage but still very feasible.

Are you a programmer or an artist?

Either way you've got to build a portfolio to show potential employers.

While continuing with online tutorials and books, start a little but well thought-out, purposeful and ambitious project.

When you get the project to a fairly advanced stage, you should include both your project and your freelance work into the compilation for your portfolio and begin to apply for Junior and entry-level roles.

Don't be discouraged if you don't get through to the interview stage or don't get past the first interview. Always ask for feed back so you can see how to improve yourself for the next role you apply for

If you want to review your interview performance you can post the challenges here and the experts here would help you analyse your performance and guide you on how to improve next time

Same with your project, if you are stuck or have any problems post here for solutions