how do programmers want their game music?

Started by
7 comments, last by nmoog 22 years, 3 months ago
I am a musician looking to get into writing game music, but I was just wondering about the preffered format for programmers. Not just .mp3, .wav etc but does the composition need to be split in to loops and segments that can be triggered at different time (to create suspense, excitement etc) or is it generally just a whole track. How long should the track go for?! Should it be a 25 minute opus so gamers dont get to tired of it quickly, or should it be a 3 minute loop so it doesnt use to much memory?! Anything else I should be careful of? Any help on the subject would be appreciated
Advertisement
I would have to say music that is good at looping as well as good transitional music. Another thing, in my opinion, is what kind of game you are making your music for. An RPG for instance might have a lot more nice transitional music while an FPS might have a bunch of looping 5 minutes segments.

BTW: Can't resist asking. I am looking for someone to do music for my game. If you are interested and what more info just lemme know, bob_corillian@hotmail.com

Edited by - Corillian on January 27, 2002 6:42:14 PM
Check ya mail, dude
I am curious as well, what program are you using to make your music?

Moe''s site
I think that accommodating loops and so on would be useful, but it really depends on the game. Most don''t do anything so interesting.

I think it would be nice to have music that didn''t only loop, but was split into different parts (of an arbitrary number of instruments) so that you could programmatically combine different parts to create a very large variety of different combinations. Just keep the chord progressions and tempo all the same and it would work well.

[ MSVC Fixes | STL | SDL | Game AI | Sockets | C++ Faq Lite | Boost ]