HELP!

Started by
9 comments, last by PsYcHoPrOg 24 years, 3 months ago
I have been studying C++ and C on my own time now for about two years. I attended a summer camp, which teaches C++ and some other things last summer. After a while, I decided to get into DirectX, so I did. I have read several tutorials/books/articles on my own to learn DirectX. However, I CAN''T DO IT! I have made a huge attempt to memorize and learn this stuff, but I can’t find a way to do it! I find myself reading the same section over and over. I finally memorize it, but then the next day, I don’t remember squat! And I am applying the information, which I have been advised to do. If anyone would like to recommend something please respond! I am dying to make at least a small game before I am 16! I may be young, but I know, as a fourteen-year old, that I am capable of doing this. So please, if you can help me, respond.
D:
Advertisement
You do not have to memorize everything. Just learn the main ideas, and then do something to try it out. The exact spelling you can check from the Programmer''s Reference while writing the code.
I also recommend copy-pasteing bits of code directly from the tutorials and samples.
what''s the information you were advised to do? If you can''t figure DX out, you can always try other things then come back to it. You could give DOS a shot. You would just need DJGPP and Allegro as a start. Both are free.
Carl "trixter"[email=carl@trixoft.com]carl@trixoft.com[/email]http://www.trixoft.com
I know what you mean, I used to have the same problem. Learning the core commands and usage of DX is not very natural (at least it wasn't to me). When I first started, I tried to follow the books and make a simple game. That didn't work for me. I could make a simple 2D game by modifying someone's code, but I didn't REALLY know what was going on in there.