Multiplayer Api Wrapper

Started by
9 comments, last by Azrael 24 years, 1 month ago
Ok. Im pretty sure this is a FAQ in this forum, but its worth it so ill shoot it anyway. Im a game programmer but im a newbie in comunications Im aware of concepts as lag, latency and protocols, but thats about it, I dont know about comunication layers, Now I know that there are two major APIS one is direct play and the other is winsock , I also heard that there is a http based one. but the question is, Is there a easy to use wrapper around? for this api''s? so I can implement TCP/IP comunications in my program? without too much hassle?
Advertisement
DirectPlay is the easiest to use. If ease of use is your main concern, my suggestion is to definately use DPlay.

There is a DPlay wrapper in the engine source code download at www.genesis3d.com. You can see the wrapper in use in the GDemo1 source download at the same site. The code is not optimized, but it works.

Thanks! Actually that is what im looking for, if I have the source code I can probably optimize it myself, with some luck.
One last thing the genesis3d download is too big, and is not very useful to me, (im not working on fps) since this code is probably just a few kbs in size, could you be so kind to send it to me by email? german_cons@yahoo.com

I will really apreciate that, im using a modem for my connections and 22 megs are way out of my reach.
I have a copy of the G3D netplay files that I can send you if you like, the zip is quite small
Isn''t DirectPlay based on Winsock, since Winsock is a part of the TCP/IP protocol stack?

Daniel Netz, Sentinel Design

"I'm not stupid, I'm from Sweden" - Unknown
============================Daniel Netz, Sentinel Design"I'm not stupid, I'm from Sweden" - Unknown