Rendering to a section of a window, while still using Win32 controls (MDX)

Started by
6 comments, last by Tera_Dragon 18 years, 5 months ago
I've just started to look at using DX with C# and decided to make a simple level editor with it as a learning project. I can set up a window with DX, though what I really want is to be able to only set a section of the window for use with DX, and use the rest of the window with the Win32 controls. As some editors such as milkshape do. I've tried setting the viewport to smaller than the window, but this doesn't work as I want as the Win32 controls are not rendered. Can anyone point me in the right direction for some info or tutorials no how to do what I want?
____________________________________________________________Programmers Resource Central
Advertisement
Im no expert but maybe you could have like a popup window that displays the level and then the editor window. Basiclly render it to one window and have the other up at the same time.
Create a smaller child window. (ie: WS_CHILD and pass the main HWND as the parent window)

Give D3D this child window in the D3DPRESENT_PARAMETERS. (d3dpp.hDeviceWindow = thechildwindow), while still giving the top level window to CreateDevice.

a Fantastic yet simple way to do this is start a new project. Place a splitter control on the window and then on the one side place a panel control on the form and make it expand to the full size and on the other side you can use whatever control you wish, such as buttons etc... from the toolbox. This means you have the functionality of the Form designer and the control of DirectX on the panel.

PS: Remember to explicitly pass the Handle of the Panel to the device creation as it won't work another way.

I hope this helps.
Take care.
Thanks Armadon, that's exactly what I was looking for :D
____________________________________________________________Programmers Resource Central