Total newbie here, what should I study?

Started by
15 comments, last by zenoru24 12 years, 9 months ago
I think http://pygame.org is pretty awesome.
Advertisement
I think you should stick to SFML, Ive messed with both.. SFML is simply more modern. SFML has a good community and uses more modern methods, for example SDL uses older blitting methods while SFML supports useful things such as sprite rotation. From my experience, SFML is just a cleaner, newer, better version of SDL. Im not expert on either of them.. but from what Ive read and experienced, thats what I would say.

inaccurate. SDL 1.3 is a modern, hardware-accelerated 2D rendering API with a wider range of ports, a more robust API (not counting views and the use of internal context APIs, where SFML certainly beats SDL), and unfortunately no tutorials or completed games using it (to my knowledge).

With SDL 1.3; you not only get the typical trio of Windows, Linux with X11, and Mac OS X; but also iOS, Android, webOS (Palm Pilot), Windows CE (not counting Windows Phone 7, which does not allow C/C++ programs to run), and homebrew NintendoDS; among a handful of other less notable ports.

If you're ready to probe documentation and header files for the information you need to make your game, SDL 1.3 is a much better choice than SFML in my opinion.

No. Looking at source code is BAD; almost anyone will tell you that. The fact is, everyone programs differently and it is far better to learn from tutorials/experimentation than to attempt to figure out someone else's code which may not make total sense to you.

I have read and re-read this post like 9 times trying to decide if it was sarcastic humour or not. Then I noticed it was up-voted and have concluded that, no in fact, it was not sarcasm.