I want to be an indie game developer, where do I start?

Started by
17 comments, last by JackBid 11 years, 4 months ago
In my opinion, if you want to make simple 2D games you can use C++ & SDL as suggested before.
I started learning java in college and when i came to C++ it just felt natural. If you comprehend what vectors are, object oriented programming, Cartesian plane, cicles, if...else, you might actually already have what you need to start developing games. If you want to take this C++SDL route i recomend you this page LazyFoo, very simple and very complete tutorials. Also check this youtube channel thecplusplusguy, again well explained and complete tutorials that takes you from starting your proyect to making a sidescroller game like Super Mario and more, the only thing about this channel is that this guy have a little "difficult" accent.

I hope this helps you, good luck.
Advertisement

Allthough modern C++ does allow you to use it like a very high level language aswell (Which is reasonably easy), Just because the language allows you to mess around at a lower level doesn't mean you have to do it.

I'm not quite sure what you mean by "modern C++", but unless you have a GC system working behind the scenes, I'm pretty sure that you would still have to manage memory on your own. Right?

in my opinion the biggest problem with C++ for beginners is the quality of tutorials online (most of them are crap and will push beginners towards low level features of the language far too early or worse, teach them the unsafe C way of doing things before or instead of the safer C++ equivalents) and the unnecessarily obnoxious build model. (a very large number of beginner problems with C++ are related to the Linker, not the language)