finding work/ projects while in high school

Started by
4 comments, last by shaqb4 11 years, 5 months ago
I'm currently a student in high school and I want to start working on team projects or creating small applications for a little money. I know the second part probably isn't going to happen.

I've looked at some freelance websites, but it seemed like everybody had professional experience on those sites. So here's my first question. Are there any websites or other ways for a beginner to find small, paid projects? Honestly, even the experience of doing something for free would be okay.

Second, that option being unlikely, what are some ways of getting involved with open source projects? A basic project that would be challenging but not completely beyond my reach? I started programming about a year and a half ago.

Any suggestions or advise you might have would be appreciated. Thank you!!
Advertisement
Firstly, be sure that you're actually capable enough to take on any jobs you approach or teams you think of joining, or that they're fully aware of any limitations and willing to work through it with you if you're unsure. If you join a project and are unable to contribute meaningfully -- or worse, manage to make a mess of things -- it won't be a particularly valuable experience for you or the people you are wanting to work with. In the case of potentially paid work you might even get a bad reputation.

I'm not saying you shouldn't try, and only you really have an idea of how capable you are at present, but it's something that you should give due consideration.

That being said, some ideas for finding work or projects include: