Monkey engine for 2D game development (beginner)

Started by
-1 comments, last by msm1982 10 years, 9 months ago

Hi,

sorry if this has been answered before, but I am just starting to look at game development and am starting to feel a bit overwhelmed by the options to choose from.

First, I am a developer, though never for games, so I would be a beginner, but not afraid to put in the effort. My ultimate goal is to build a 2D Super Metroid clone (or Shadow Complex on Xbox360 for a more recent example).

As a beginner, I don't want to invest in expensive tools to get started before I know what I want/like, and also I am on a linux (Ubuntu machine) which as I can tell limits my options fairly greatly (though if I really really have no other options, I'd look into getting a Mac).

What I'd like

- a game engine/library that has relatively quick ramp-up for a beginner to start building a 2D Metroid clone

- ideally more than a low-level SDK but not as basic as a GUI based drag-drop type editor

- can build to cross-platform for iOS/Android/Ouya (and if possible Xbox)

- programming language is not a big ideal, I don't mind learning a new one if need be (I am familiar with many OO languages now)

What I've considered and ultimately rejected for one reason or another:

• Corona (I dont like that I have to compile remotely - no linux SDK - $600/year is likely expensive considering I've never built any game before)
  • Unity (seems a bit complex for a beginner as it leans more towards 3D and is IDE based)
  • Monogame (no linux SDK - Xamarin only supports Win/Mac - also $600/year)

What I am now strongly considering is between Monkey and Marmalade Quick (with Cocos2d-x)

I have read good things about both and the costs ($99 and $150 respectively) are ok, and both support publishing to all the major targets.

Some questions I have though

• Do either have a mature enough feature-set for a beginner?
  • Will I be able to develop with it well on an Ubuntu machine?