Is there a difference in art from the 90s to now?

Started by
4 comments, last by 3Ddreamer 10 years, 6 months ago

I'm in a club, basically the main guy. Problem is I'm a programmer and I'm not sure about the art stuff. I remember once when I was toying around I grabbed some ripped sprites and instead of being one big sheet they were each individual images. I was wondering if that was just the game or if that was how it's done now a days for higher res sprites.

The game was Blazblue. I'm not sure the resolution of the characters. But how are character sprites handled for higher resolution games?

So like the difference of Street Fighter 2 to Street Fighter 2 Turbo HD Remix. Are the sprites made differently?

Seeing the blazblue one made me think it actually loads all the images into an array and then plays the correct sequence in the array based on the action being taken. But then I was reading up on a simple 2D game and that a sprite sheet holds all the sprites and that the game just reads the whole thing and renders only specific part of the sprite sheet based on the pixel position.

Sorry if this is the wrong area. I thought this might belong in programming section but I think it's more art side since I need to tell my artist how to make the characters.

Advertisement
You can do either individual sprites or spritesheets, but a terrible amount of information says that spritesheets are generally faster.

Really? I haven't actually looked too deep into which is faster or the pros or cons of either. But I just assumed spritesheets would be faster because it's got all the animations loaded while individual sprites would have to be loaded separately.

Check out this two-part series as a fun way of learning: http://www.codeandweb.com/what-is-a-sprite-sheet.