I wanna make a game. I don't know what but I know I wanna make a game

Started by
4 comments, last by Tom Sloper 9 years ago
My name is Tristan and I have 3 long term life goals.

Life goal #1: Make a full length movie.

Life Goal #2: Write a song and form a band. Perform live with the band.

Life Goal #3: Create and be a part of the game designing process.

These goals have been decided and finalized as of 4/26/15. Now I know you can't just say "oh, I wanna make a game" and have the game materialize out of thin air. There are hundreds of hours that go into making a game and tons of work involved in the process. Personally, I have no experience with the making of an actual game (indie or not) but I do know quite a bit about the business and I took the first videogame design class that my school district introduced a few years back. (which was complete shit as it was in the "beta phase" in terms of how new it was and because of the lack of preparation from the district and teachers)

When I was in the 3rd grade, I had dreamed of becoming a game designer because of my unconditional love for videogames. Like many kids, I actually believed it was an achievable goal... that was until I realized how much mathematics actually went into development. I suck and have always sucked at math. I hate it. I barely made it through my math classes and I was sometimes missing out on crucial math skills that the average person needs partly because of my ADD. Now I'm not saying I can't add, subtract, multiply, and divide... I'm just saying it takes me too long to mentally solve certain math problems. Calculators are these angelic objects that have descended from the highest reaches of heaven. Seriously.