2D Transparency : Uniform vs Vertex Attribute

Started by
2 comments, last by agleed 7 years, 10 months ago

I'm a bit new to graphics rendering and APIs and wanted to ask anyone experienced with rendering APIs for some opinions. I have my own sprite API for pushing quads into a buffer. The quads are sorted on the CPU.

What is generally the preferred method for implementing transparency for 2D sprites, where the transparency of individual sprites can be adjusted over time? Would it be preferred to set a shader uniform on different draw calls, and try to sort sprites into calls? This might work if the transparency was quantized to say 0-255.

Or perhaps it's generally best to just place some alpha values into the vertex attributes of sprite quads directly? I am kind of shy about this idea since it seems a bit wasteful to place an alpha attribute 6 times into a single quad (I'm drawing quads with two triangles each).

Does anyone have any feedback or opinions to share?

Note: I've applied pre-multiplied alpha to all textures so complicated sorting shouldn't be necessary.

Advertisement
Generally, yeah you'd use uniforms... But, trying to draw a large number of simple objects is a special case where the general solution might not be best. Using the vertex attributes allows you to draw so many more sprites in a single batch, so is probably a great idea here.

The trade off you're making here is adding a tiny extra cost to your vertex shader and wasting a bit of RAM, in exchange for larger batch sizes, which will save you a lot of CPU time, and potentially help with overall GPU efficiency.

Btw you can render a quad with 4 verts and 6 indices, instead of with 6 vertices.

Another option is instancing, where the transparency value would be in a "vertex buffer" that holds per-instance data, which would save a bunch of RAM... but, in practice, instancing is usually very inefficient when you've only got a few vertices per instance.