QA/Cert job questions

Started by
1 comment, last by frob 7 years, 9 months ago

Hello, this is going to be a relatively long and meandering post, apologies in advance.

So I've been working in Certification for 3 years now, got made a lead 6 months in and it's been pretty good for me but recent events have made me realise I need to start looking to the future more (the referendum result today has also put me in a bit of a panic/bummed out mood), to try and find something more reliable and lucrative if possible. Luckily I live in a very good area for games testing and games development stuff in general (and software testing as well). My main problem seems to be that the majority of jobs in games/software testing, even entry level ones, require experience in testing on platforms we don't do or aspects of testing that either we don't do or we do but they haven't told us what the industry accepted terms for it are, so I've been trying to look that stuff up and learn it if I didn't know it (obviously won't help if I need to know it in a professional capacity but still useful I feel). I've looked into getting some of the qualifications but those will be expensive and if they won't help get me even an entry level job then I can't really justify it.