Character modeling recommendations

Started by
3 comments, last by Rutin 4 years, 9 months ago

I am new to 3D software and modeling. I have used 3D max for small assets (trashcans, trees, etc.) but would like to get into modeling some characters for a game idea I have. But my skill set using 3D Max is still basic. Does anyone have any recommendations for some decent tutorial videos on modeling characters in 3D Max that are step-by-step and easy to follow on YouTube or other free source services?

Thank you,

jcibme

Welcome to my world

Advertisement

Welcome @jcibme

I can only speak on my personal tastes and experience as a 3D Artist. I normally avoid making organic meshes through applications that don't support some sort of sculpting. Back in the day you would box model or polygon model your meshes out. Not sure if people still do it that way from base mesh to final mesh, but I would take a drawing and place a box and just form it by extruding out and moving vertices, edges, and faces around. Long, long, process....

Sculpting on the other hand is really what I would suggest you focus on for organic meshes. There are some different approaches but I'll explain my work flow by using one of my older meshes as an example that I did for a GameDev challenge on here.

1. Create a base mesh to work with. I would highly recommend doing this and learning how to do this as it will greatly increase your productivity and even quality of your work. I personally use the Block-in or out (whatever people call it) it get forms first. This is very important. My objective for this piece was to make a over-size goblin with a wide upper body and smaller bottom. You can also box model your base mesh to if you wish, but I prefer to actually load in different shapes and create the general form.

Simple Base Mesh:

image.png.5e9c496ae178e65119e1cda91b4849fc.png

image.png.499027d5cd812fe727979b828d6a8f8a.png